

Producer and Produce Vendor Certificate FAQs

If I sell both produce I have grown and produce I have obtained from other sources, do I need a Producer's Certificate and a Produce Vendor's Certificate?

No. If you hold a valid producer's certificate, you do not also need a produce vendor's certificate. However, only farm products grown by the actual producer can be listed on the producer's certificate. If you sell produce that you did not grow, federal law requires records be maintained that allow for product to be traced to the previous source.

Can I use a Producer or Produce Vendor's Certificate for processed products like jams and salsas?

No. Producer and Produce Vendor's Certificates are issued for raw, unprocessed agricultural products. Please refer to Cottage Food Operations NRS 446.866 for more information on processed products.

Can eggs be listed on a Producer's Certificate?

Yes! A Producer's Certificate must be obtained for the direct sale of eggs.

If I have a Producer or a Produce Vendor's Certificate can I sell my farm products as "certified organic"?

No. To sell your farm products as "certified organic" your farm must be certified to federal organic standards by a USDA accredited organic certification agent.

Do I need a Producer's Certificate to sell plants at a farmer's market?

No. To sell plants anywhere in the state of Nevada, you must have a Nursery Stock Dealer License issued by the Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA).

How do I obtain a Producer or Produce Vendor's Certificate?

Applications can be found at NDA's website (<u>agri.nv.gov</u>). Producer certificates require an onsite inspection of the growing area. The crops to be certified must be planted and actively growing before and inspection can take place. Once the inspection is completed, a certificate will be issued to you. Produce Vendor's Certificates do not require an inspection.

How much does it cost?

Currently the cost for both the Producer and Produce Vendor's Certificate is \$50.00 for the first year and \$30.00 to renew.

Do I have to get a Producer or Produce Vendor's Certificate every year?

To remain valid, the certificates must be renewed each year. Certified producers and produce vendors will receive renewal notice from NDA.